clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado’s Sports Information wins FWAA’s Super 11

The award recognizes the outstanding media relations efforts of Dave Plati and his staff.

University of Colorado

The University of Colorado Sports Information Department was named as one the Football Writers Association of America’s “Super 11” award winners for the fifth time in the past eight years. This distinct honor is given annually for most outstanding media relations teams among all 129 FBS teams.

The multi-talented crew led by stats legend Dave Plati maintains one of the most professional sports information departments in the nation. Known for an efficient operation, Colorado has set a standard for quick delivery of content, and the ability to provide real-time information and access— they’re revered by both local and nation reporters for those qualities.

“It’s always a privilege to be recognized because it’s honoring the work of so many people,” Plati said. “From the coaches and the student-athletes cooperating with media requests to everyone involved on game days in the press box operation going the extra mile.”

According to the FWAA’s press release, the criteria for being selected for the award broke down into ten categories. The departments were rated on media availability, press box conduct, player interview requests, the ability to designate a respected journalist in the event of an officiating controversy, and banning school boosters from attending press conferences.

“There are many strong sports information departments around the nation,” FWAA’s Tim Griffin noted. “We are grateful for all of them, but this award is meant to honor the best of the best. It’s for those SIDs who provide strong media services and go the extra mile to provide help above and beyond the call of duty.”

Colorado was selected along with USC, Georgia, Clemson, Houston, Oklahoma, Wyoming, Miami (OH), Rice, South Alabama, and Ohio State. This is the second time in five years CU has won the “Super 11” in consecutive years (2013-14), with 2015 being the only year to come up empty.

About the FWAA

The Football Writers Association of America is a non-profit organization founded in 1941. It consists of more than 1,300 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.