clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Fields, Ross Named to Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

Colorado wideouts on a watch list for the award going to the nation’s outstanding receiver regardless of position

NCAA Football: Colorado at Arizona Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

The Rise continues to be recognized. Colorado Buffaloes wide receivers Shay Fields and Devin Ross were named to the 2017 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List Tuesday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Fields led the Buffs in receiving last season with 56 receptions, 883 yards and nine touchdowns. They were the best totals of his collegiate career along as he lead all Pac-12 receivers with a 15.8 yards per catch average. His 1,967 receiving yards ranks tenth in CU history and he is seventh in touchdowns (17) and sixth in receptions (148).

Ross’ numbers improved from 2015 as he led the Buffs with 69 receptions, fourth most in the conference. He finished second on the team with 787 yards and five touchdowns. He’s currently tied for 15th all-time in receptions (97) with his coach Darrin Chiaverini.

Fields and Ross join Rae Carruth (1996, one of three finalists), Scotty McKnight (2010, Pre-season), Paul Richardson (2013, Pre-season) and Nelson Spruce (2014, one of 10 semifinalists) as the only six CU players to ever make the Biletnikoff watch list. Colorado was one of five schools in the nation to have two players named to a pre-season list.

2017 Biletnikoff Pre-season Watch List (45)

Sergio Bailey II, Eastern Michigan

Linell Bonner, Houston

Adam Breneman, Massachusetts

Ventell Bryant, Temple

Deon Cain, Clemson

Keke Coutee, Texas Tech

Deondre Douglas, Troy

Jonathan Duhart, Old Dominion

Shay Fields, Colorado

Michael Gallup, Colorado State

James Gardner, Miami (Ohio)

Devin Gray, Cincinnati

Andy Isabella, Massachusetts

Richie James, Middle Tennessee

KeeSean Johnson, Fresno State

Jon'Vea Johnson, Toledo

Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

Allen Lazard, Iowa State

Tavares Martin Jr., Washington State

Jalen McCleskey, Oklahoma State

Anthony Miller, Memphis

Scott Miller, Bowling Green

J'Mon Moore, Missouri

Dante Pettis, Washington

Ervin Philips, Syracuse

Cam Phillips, Virginia Tech

T.J. Rahming, Duke

Ahmmon Richards, Miami

Calvin Ridley, Alabama

Demetris Robertson, California

Devin Ross, Colorado

Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

Steven Sims Jr., Kansas

Tre'Quan Smith, UCF

Equanimeous St. Brown, Notre Dame

Allenzae Staggers, Southern Miss

Courtland Sutton, SMU

Cody Thompson, Toledo

Emanuel Thompson, Troy

James Washington, Oklahoma State

Jester Weah, Pitt

Nick Westbrook, Indiana

Jimmy Williams, East Carolina

Corey Willis, Central Michigan

Cedrick Wilson, Boise State

About the Biletnikoff Award

Since 1994, the Biletnikoff Award has been selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee made from a group of journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Biletnikoff Foundation trustees do not vote in the process. Here’s a list of voters.

“The Foundation, when appropriate, will add receivers to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, based upon performance, without prejudice up to the commencement of voting by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Moreover, the Biletnikoff Award will carefully evaluate the on-the-field performance during the current season of any receiver returning from serious injury from the spring or prior season before making a decision regarding inclusion on the watch list. The transparently detailed and explicit criteria for candidate eligibility, watch list inclusion, and voting appear”

List of Blietnikoff Award criteria

The 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 7, 2017, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00-9:00pm(EST) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show. Howard is one of only 5 ends or receivers who has won the Heisman Trophy, joining Larry Kelley, Leon Hart, Johnny Rodgers, and Tim Brown.