clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2016-17 College football bowl games to watch with predictions

Postseason kicks off with the New Mexico Bowl on Dec. 17.

CFP National Championship - Alabama v Clemson Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

The college football postseason starts with the New Mexico Bowl on Dec. 17 and goes to the National Championship on Jan. 9. A total of 42 games with 33 title sponsors played in 16 states and two countries.

151,200 seconds of wholesome bowl game action spread across seven television networks. Wow... that’s a lot of football.

Here’s a list of 15 games to watch during the holiday’s from the Rocky Mountain Region, Pac-12 Conference and National contention.

Rocky Mountain Region

Saturday, Dec. 17, 2016: Gildan New Mexico Bowl New Mexico Lobos vs. UTSA Roadrunners, 2 p.m. ET/ Noon MT ESPN

Cam Goeldner: New Mexico, 42-28

Sam Metivier : New Mexico, 42-31

Jack Barsch: New Mexico, 42-35

Jeff Hauser: UTSA, 34-30 Thank you, Darrien Starling

Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2016: San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl BYU Cougars vs. Wyoming Cowboys, 9 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Wyoming, 35-28

Sam: Wyoming, 46-42

Jack: BYU, 27-20

Jeff: BYU, 42-28

Thursday, Dec. 22, 2016: Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Idaho Vandals vs. Colorado State Rams, 7 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Colorado State, 42-14

Sam: Idaho, 70-2

Jack: Colorado State, 38-17

Jeff: Colorado State, 52-20

Friday, Dec. 30, 2016: Hyundai Sun Bowl South Alabama Jaguars vs. Air Force Falcons, 5:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. MT American Sports Network (ASN)/ Campus Insiders

Cam: Air Force, 28-21

Sam: Air Force, 31-10

Jack: Air Force, 35-7

Jeff: Air Force 30-17

Pac-12 Conference

Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2016: National Funding Holiday Bowl Minnesota Golden Gophers vs. Washington State Cougars, 7 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Washington State, 24-21

Sam: Washington State, 34-24

Jack: Washington State, 49-30

Jeff: Washington State, 38-27

Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2016: Foster Farms Bowl Indiana Hoosiers vs. No. 19 Utah Utes, 8:30 p.m. ET/ 6:30 p.m. MT FOX

Cam: Utah, 28-17

Sam: Utah, 24-12

Jack: Utah, 27-7

Jeff: Indiana, 35-28

Thursday, Dec. 29, 2016: Valero Alamo Bowl No. 12 Oklahoma State Cowboys vs. No. 10 Colorado Buffaloes, 9 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Colorado, 42-35

Sam: Colorado, 30-26

Jack: Colorado, 33-30

Jeff: Colorado 28-24

Friday, Dec. 30, 2016: Hyundai Sun Bowl No. 18 Stanford Cardinal vs. North Carolina Tar Heels, 2 p.m. ET/ Noon MT CBS

Cam: North Carolina, 24-21

Sam: Stanford, 38-34

Jack: Stanford, 20-14

Jeff: Stanford, 23-17

National (New Year’s Six)

Friday, Dec. 30, 2016: Capital One Orange Bowl No. 6 Michigan Wolverines vs. No. 11 Florida State Seminoles, 8 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Michigan, 35-24

Sam: Michigan, 23-21

Jack: Michigan, 24-10

Jeff: Michigan 48-21

Monday, Jan. 2, 2017: Goodyear Cotton Bowl No. 15 Western Michigan Broncos vs. No. 8 Wisconsin Badgers, 1 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. MT ABC

Cam: Wisconsin, 21-17

Sam: Western Michigan, 29-23

Jack: Wisconsin, 17-7

Monday, Jan. 2, 2017: Rose Bowl presented by Northwestern Mutual No. 5 Penn State Nittany Lions vs. No. 9 USC Trojans, 5 p.m. ET/ 3 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: USC, 30-20

Sam: USC, 38-20

Jack: USC, 40-24

Jeff: Penn State, 27-20

Monday, Jan. 2, 2017: Allstate Sugar Bowl No. 14 Auburn Tigers vs. No. 7 Oklahoma Sooners, 8:30 p.m. ET/ 6:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Oklahoma, 41-21

Sam: Oklahoma, 52-48

Jack: Oklahoma, 35-19

Jeff: Oklahoma 49-42

Dec 31, 2016: Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl No. 4 Washington Huskies vs. No. 1 Alabama Crimson Tide, 3 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. ESPN

Cam: Alabama, 24-6

Sam: Washington, 24-13 (Why not?)

Jack: Alabama, 24-13 (Because Alabama)

Jeff: Alabama, 21-20

Dec. 31, 2016: Playstation Fiesta Bowl No. 3 Ohio State Buckeyes vs. No. 2 Clemson Tigers, 7 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Clemson, 28-24

Sam: Clemson, 28-27

Jack: Clemson, 33-30

Jeff: Ohio State, 31-24

The Granddaddy of em’ all

Jan. 9, 2017: National Championship (Winners of Fiesta & Peach Bowl), 8:30 p.m. ET/ 6:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Cam: Alabama (over Clemson), 24-10

Sam: Washington (over Clemson), 27-21

Jack: Alabama (over Clemson), 42-10

Jeff: Alabama (over Ohio State), 37-26

Honorable mention games (The Rest)

Saturday, Dec. 17, 2016

Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl: NC Central Eagles vs. Grambling State Tigers, Noon ET/ 10 a.m. MT ABC

Las Vegas Bowl: Houston Cougars vs. San Diego Aztecs, 3:30 p.m. ET/ 1:30 p.m. MT ABC

Raycom Media Camella Bowl: Appalachian State Mountaineers vs. Toledo Rockets, 5:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. MT ESPN

AutoNation Cure Bowl: UCF Knights vs. Arkansas State Red Wolves, 5:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. MT CBS Sports Network

R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl: Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles vs. UL Lafayette Ragin’ Cajans, 9 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. MT ESPN

Monday, Dec. 19, 2016

Miami Beach Bowl: Central Michigan Chippewas vs. Tulsa Golden Hurricane, 2:30 p.m. ET/ 12:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2016

Boca Raton Bowl: Memphis Tigers vs. Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, 7 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. MT ESPN

Friday, Dec. 23, 2016

Popeyes Bahamas Bowl: Eastern Michigan Eagles vs. Old Dominion Monarchs, 1 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. MT ESPN

Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl: Louisiana Tech Bulldogs vs. No. 25 Navy Midshipmen, 4:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Dollar General Bowl: Ohio Bobcats vs. Troy Trojans, 8 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. MT ESPN

Saturday, Dec. 24, 2016

Hawaii Bowl: Hawaii Warriors vs. Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders, 8 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. MT ESPN

Monday, Dec. 26, 2016

St. Petersburg Bowl: Miami (OH) Redhawks vs. Mississippi State Bulldogs, 11 a.m. ET/ 9 a.m. MT ESPN

Quick Lane Bowl: Maryland Terrapins vs. Boston College Eagles, 2:30 p.m. ET/ 12:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Camping World Independence Bowl: NC State Wolfpack vs. Vanderbilt Commodores, 5 p.m. ET/ 3 p.m. MT ESPN2

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2016

Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl: Army Black Knights vs. North Texas Mean Green, Noon ET/ 10 a.m. MT ESPN

Military Bowl: No. 24 Temple Owls vs. Wake Forest Demon Deacons, 3:30 p.m. ET/ 1:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Motel 6 Cactus Bowl: Boise State Broncos vs. Baylor Bears, 10:15 p.m. ET/ 8:15 p.m. MT ESPN

Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2016

New Era Pinstripe Bowl: No. 23 Pittsburgh Panthers vs. Northwestern Wildcats, 2 p.m. ET/ Noon MT ESPN

Russell Athletic Bowl: No. 16 West Virginia Mountaineers vs. Miami Hurricanes, 5:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. MT ESPN

AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl: Texas A&M Aggies vs. Kansas State Wildcats, 9 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. MT ESPN

Thursday, Dec. 29, 2016

Birmingham Bowl: USF Bulls vs. South Carolina Gamecocks, 2 p.m. ET/ Noon MT ESPN

Belk Bowl: Arkansas Razorbacks vs. No 22 Virginia Tech Hokies, 5:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Friday, Dec. 30, 2016

AutoZone Liberty Bowl: Georgia Bulldogs vs. TCU Horned Frogs, Noon ET/ 10 a.m. MT ESPN

Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl: Nebraska Cornhuskers vs. No. 21 Tennessee Volunteers, 3:30 p.m. ET/ 1:30 p.m. MT ESPN

Saturday, Dec. 31, 2016

Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl: No. 20 LSU Tigers vs. No. 13 Louisville Cardinals, 11 a.m. ET/ 9 a.m. MT ABC

TaxSlayer Bowl: Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets vs. Kentucky Wildcats, 11 a.m. ET/ 9 a.m. MT ESPN

Monday, Jan 2, 2017

Outback Bowl: No. 17 Florida Gators vs. Iowa Hawkeyes, 1 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. MT ABC