clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre wins 2016 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

MacIntyre tops five other coaches for the award presented during the National Championship week.

Colorado v Oregon Photo by Steve Dykes/Getty Images

The same day Colorado Buffaloes coach Mike MacIntyre was named AP coach of the year, he’s also named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.

Members of the Football Writers Association of America voted MacIntyre the best coach in college football over Western Michigan's P.J. Fleck, Penn State's James Franklin, Washington's Chris Petersen and Alabama's Nick Saban.

"I'm honored and privileged to be the recipient of the Eddie Robinson Award," MacIntyre said. "It is a testament to our players and coaches for all their hard work and dedication. Eddie Robinson was a trailblazer in our industry and was a man that was really respected throughout the college coaching world and is still highly regarded to this day."

Prior to MacIntyre, Colorado’s only coach to win the award named after the late longtime Grambling State coach was Bill McCartney in 1989.

Robinson coached the Tigers for 56 years and retired as the second-winningest coach in NCAA history, behind Penn State’s Joe Paterno. He was briefly recognized as the record holder for all-time wins with Paterno vacating seasons as a result of the Jerry Sandusky child sex abuse scandal. Penn State’s 111 wins during Paterno’s tenure were reinstated in January 2015.

MacIntyre adds to the list of accomplishments of a great season after being named the Walter Camp Coach of the Year earlier this month.

The official presentation of the award by the FWAA will be on Saturday, Jan. 7, 2017 during the National Championship week in Tampa, Fla.