clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre named 2016 Walter Camp Coach of the Year

Well-deserved national recognition for the Buffaloes.

NCAA Football: Washington State at Colorado Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Colorado Buffaloes head coach Mike MacIntyre has been named the 2016 Walter Camp Coach of the Year, becoming only the second coach in CU history to receive the honor (Bill McCartney, 1989).

In his fourth season, MacIntyre has orchestrated a historic turnaround in leading the Buffaloes to a 10-2 record and a No. 8 ranking. CU notched it's first 10-win season since the 2001 season and became bowl eligible for the first time since 2007 (Independence Bowl vs. Alabama).

"It is an honor to receive the Walter Camp Coach of the Year award, but this all reflects on our assistant coaches and our players and how they've invested in our program for us to be able to be successful," MacIntyre said in a statement. "I'm just fortunate enough to have head coach in front of my name and be along for the ride. This is special considering it is voted on by other head coaches, that truly means a lot to me coming from my peers."

MacIntyre’s the fifth coach from the Pac-12 to receive the award, joining Chip Kelly (2010, Oregon), Bruce Snyder (1996, Arizona State), McCartney and Frank Kush (1975, Arizona State).

The Walter Camp Coach of the year is selected among all 129 teams in FBS and MacIntyre becomes the recipient of the award’s 50th year, representing the ideals of the former Yale player and Coach.

Colorado’s 27-22 victory last Saturday over No. 21 Utah secured a Pac-12 South Division title for the Buffaloes, who play No. 4 Washington in the conference championship on Friday (12/2).

Past Walter Camp award winners

2015 – Dabo Swinney, Clemson

2014 – Gary Patterson, TCU

2013 – David Cutcliffe, Duke

2012 – Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

2011 – Les Miles, LSU

2010 – Chip Kelly, Oregon

2009 – Gary Patterson, TCU

2008 – Nick Saban, Alabama

2007 – Mark Mangino, Kansas

2006 – Greg Schiano, Rutgers

2005 – Joe Paterno, Penn State

2004 – Tommy Tuberville, Auburn

2003 – Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

2002 – Kirk Ferentz, Iowa

2001 – Ralph Friedgen, Maryland

2000 – Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

1999 – Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech

1998 – Bill Synder, Kansas State

1997 – Lloyd Carr, Michigan

1996 – Bruce Snyder, Arizona State

1995 – Gary Barnett, Northwestern

1994 – Joe Paterno, Penn State

1993 – Terry Bowden, Auburn

1992 – Gene Stallings, Alabama

1991 – Bobby Bowden, Florida State

1990 – Bobby Ross, Georgia Tech

1989 – Bill McCartney, Colorado

1988 – Don Nehlen, West Virginia

1987 – Dick MacPherson, Syracuse

1986 – Jimmy Johnson, Miami

1985 – Fisher DeBerry, Air Force

1984 – Joe Morrison, South Carolina

1983 – Mike White, Illinois

1982 – Jerry Stovall, Louisiana State

1981 – Jackie Sherrill, Pittsburgh

1980 – Vince Dooley, Georgia

1979 – John Mackovic, Wake Forest

1978 – Warren Powers, Missouri

1977 – Lou Holtz, Arkansas

1976 – Frank R. Burns, Rutgers

1975 – Frank Kush, Arizona State

1974 – Barry Switzer, Oklahoma

1973 – Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh

1972 – Joe Paterno, Penn State

1971 – Bob Devaney, Nebraska

1970 – Bob Blackman, Dartmouth

1969 – Bo Schembechler, Michigan

1968 – Woody Hayes, Ohio State

1967 – John Pont, Indiana

MacIntyre will be honored with the award on Saturday, January 14, 2017 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.