clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

5Dimes Sets Colorado Football Win Total at 4.5

New, 8 comments

Can the Buffaloes beat the Vegas projections in 2015?

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Offshore sportsbook 5Dimes has once again been one of the first books to release their win totals for the upcoming college football season and has set the number for the Colorado Buffaloes at 4.5 (over -140, under +100). The odds are set in such a way that there is more value on betting the under which, in rough odds making theory, means the the book thinks five wins are ever so slightly more likely than four.

Colorado is the third-lowest in the conference with Oregon State and Washington worse (although the Huskies number doesn't seem right) and Cal and Washington State just above. The rest of the Pac-12 is listed below.

Arizona: 7 (over -150, under +110)

Arizona State: 8.5 (+130, under -170)

Cal: 5 (over -130, under -110)

Colorado: 4.5 (over -140, under +100)

Oregon: 9.5 (over -165, under +125)

Oregon State: 4 (over -110, under -130)

Stanford: 9 (over +100, under -140)

UCLA: 9.5 (over +100, under -140)

USC: 8.5 (over -105, under -135)

Utah: 7.5 (over -7.5, under -110)

Washington: 4 (over -185, under +145)

Washington State: 5 (over -130, under -110)

So, is the over attainable for the Buffs this season? Let's take a look at the schedule again.

DATE OPPONENT RESULT/TIME
Fri, Sept 4 1:00 AM ET CBS Sports Network
Sat, Sept 12 TBD
Sat, Sept 19 7:00 PM ET
Sat, Sept 26 TBD
Sat, Oct 3 TBD
Sat, Oct 10 TBD
Sat, Oct 17 TBD
Sat, Oct 24 TBD
Sat, Oct 31 TBD
Sat, Nov 7 TBD
Fri, Nov 13 TBD
Sat, Nov 21 TBD
Sat, Nov 28 TBD

Obviously a 4-0 non-conference record would be a huge start towards getting to five wins but based on CU history over the past few seasons I'm going to assume a 3-1 start is a bit more likely.

Now you have to find two wins in Pac-12 Conference play. Unfortunately for Colorado their home schedule this season is BRUTAL. Arizona, Oregon, Stanford and USC make for a very rough slate. Could they steal a win? Sure. The Buffaloes should have had UCLA last year.

On the road slate, Arizona State and UCLA are going to be very tough but Utah, Washington State and Oregon State are winnable games for an experienced team that we are assuming will show improvement next year. Can Colorado get two on the road? Perhaps even more likely can they steal a win at home and win one on the road?

I think so, and I'm taking the over.