clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derrick Webb Named to Butkus Award Watch List

Webb is expected to be a leader on the Buffaloes defense.

Cary Edmondson-US PRESSWIRE

The Butkus Award's preseason watch list was announced Monday and Derrick Webb has become the fourth Buffalo to be added to the lists that seemingly feature half of the nation's rosters. Webb finished the 2012 season as the team leader with 66 total tackles, 50 of those solo, and one sack.

The Butkus award is given each year to college football's best linebacker. Here's the full, official list:

Oklahoma claims the most Butkus winners with four all time whereas six schools -- Alabama, Colorado, Florida State, Illinois, Ohio State and Penn State -- have two winners to their names. Brian Bosworth is the only two-time winner after winning the first two Butkus awards in 1985 and 1986.

More from The Ralphie Report: