clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffaloes In the NFL: 13 Former Buffaloes Make NFL Rosters

Kabion Ento and William Sherman among those waived.

NFL: Jacksonville Jaguars at Dallas Cowboys Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Veteran cornerback Jimmy Smith (Ravens) and tackle Nate Solder (Giants) were among 13 former Colorado Buffaloes to land on NFL rosters Tuesday. Kabion Ento met a different fate. In what came as somewhat of a surprise, the former Buffaloes wide receiver trying to make it as a cornerback in the NFL was waived by the Green Bay Packers prior to the 4 p.m. EST deadline. Wide receiver Juwann Winfree, a former teammate of Ento’s in Boulder, Colo. was also cut by Green Bay.

Cam Newton’s release wasn’t the only big surprise out of New England. Former Buffaloes offensive lineman William Sherman, a 6th round pick (197th overall) by the Patriots in May, also failed to make the team’s 53-man roster, as did wide receiver Devin Ross. Other former Buffaloes that failed to make NFL rosters included cornerback Delrick Abrams, safety Tedric Thompson, and wide receiver Tony Brown and quarterback Steven Montez, who were both among the final cuts by the Washington Football Team.

Below is a look at the former Buffaloes that DID land on NFL rosters:

Atlanta Falcons Isaiah Oliver, cornerback

Baltimore Ravens Jimmy Smith, cornerback

Cincinnati Bengals Chidobe Awuzie, cornerback

Cincinnati Bengals Josh Tupou, nose tackle

Green Bay Packers David Bakhtiari, tackle (PUP list)

Green Bay Packers Mason Crosby, kicker

Houston Texans Phillip Lindsay, running back

Jacksonville Jaguars Laviska Shenault Jr., wide receiver

New Orleans Saints Ken Crawley, cornerback

New York Giants Nate Solder, tackle

Philadelphia Eagles Davion Taylor, linebacker

Seattle Seahawks Ahkello Witherspoon, cornerback

Tennessee Titans Daniel Munyer, center

Among the players listed above, Awuzie, Bakhtiari, Crosby, Lindsay, Shenault, Crawley and Witherspoon are all atop their team’s current depth chart. The 2021 NFL season kicks off on Thursday, September 9 when Tom Brady and the defending champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers host the Dallas Cowboys. Game time is set for 8:20 p.m. EST (6:20 p.m MT).