clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nate Landman, Brady Russell named to Butkus, Mackey award watch lists

Nate Landman and Brady Russell are poised for a great 2021 season

Oregon State v Colorado Photo by Dustin Bradford/Getty Images

For the third straight season, Colorado linebacker Nate ‘The Hammer’ Landman has been named to the Dick Butkus Award (Top Linebacker) preseason watch list.

The senior was one of 51 players – eight from Pac-12 schools - selected to the prestigious list on Monday. The honor comes a week after Landman was named to the Chuck Bednarik award preseason watch list.

Landman has led the Buffaloes in total tackles each of the last three seasons, including 61 in only five games during the COVID-shortened 2020 season before rupturing his Achilles. His 338 total tackles entering this fall are tied for 10th on Colorado’s all-time list with Thaddaeus Washington (2003-’06). Landman is looking to become the third Buff to win the Butkus Award, joining Alfred Williams in 1990 and Matt Russell in 1996.

Landman and teammate Dmitri Stanley have joined Buffaloes head coach Karl Dorrell in Hollywood, Calif. this week for Pac-12 Media Days.

And in case you missed it, Buffaloes junior tight end Brady Russell was named to the John Mackey Award (Most outstanding tight end) watch list on Friday. Since 2018, Russell has registered 33 catches for 339 yards and 3 touchdowns. He’ll look to become the first Buffs player to win the Mackey Award since Daniel Graham took home the hardware in 2001.

Remaining preseason watch list release dates are as follows:

Tue., July 27: Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Outland Trophy

Wed., July 28: Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award

Thu., July 29: Paul Hornung Award, Wuerffel Trophy

Fri., July 30: Walter Camp Award