clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Broussard, Fontenot Named To Doak Walker Award Watch List

The backfield duo is expected to anchor the Buffaloes offense in 2021 

NCAA Football: Colorado at Arizona Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Of the 82 players named to the Doak Walker Award watch list on Wednesday, 10 hail from Pac-12 schools. Two of them, Jarek Broussard and Alex Fontenot, are Colorado Buffaloes.

Broussard, a native of Dallas, Tex., rushed for 895 yards and five touchdowns in six games last season on the way to capturing Pac-12 Player of the Year honors. His 149.2 rush yards per game ranked third nationally behind only Jaret Patterson (Buffalo) and Mohamed Ibrahim (Minnesota).

Fontenot, who sat out 2020 due to an injury, is making his second appearance on the Doak Walker Award watch list having received the honor last summer prior to getting injured. The junior from Richmond, Tex. led the Buffaloes with 874 rush yards and five touchdowns and was named the teams most improved player in 2019.

USC (Keaontay Ingram and Vavae Malepeai) and Arizona State (Chip Trayanum and Rachaad White) were the other Pac-12 schools that had two players named to this year’s watch list. The Doak Walker Award has been handed out to the nation’s top running back since 1990. The only Buffaloes player to win the award was Rashaan Salaam in 1994.

Here is the release schedule for the remaining preseason watch lists:

Thu., July 22: Biletnikoff Award

Fri., July 23: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy

Mon., July 26: Butkus Award, Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Tue., July 27: Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Outland Trophy

Wed., July 28: Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award

Thu., July 29: Paul Hornung Award, Wuerffel Trophy

Fri., July 30: Walter Camp Award