clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado star Nate Landman on Bednarik Award watch list

Colorado senior linebacker Nate Landman was one of nine Pac-12 players named to the 2021 Bednarik Award watch list on Monday. 

Colorado v Arizona Photo by Ralph Freso/Getty Images

Since 1995, the Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented annually to the top defensive player in college football. This marks the third straight year the senior from Danville, Cal. (Monte Vista H.S.) has been named to the watch list.

Landman led the Buffaloes with 61 total tackles and five sacks last fall before rupturing his Achilles’ tendon in the team’s final regular season game, a 38-21 loss to rival Utah on December 11. The ‘Hammer’ spoke with the Pac-12 Networks’ Anthony Herron and Yogi Roth about his recovery process during Colorado’s Spring Showcase on April 30th.

Beginning today and continuing throughout the remainder of July, the National College Football Awards Association will unveil preseason watch lists for 16 of its 25 year-end awards. Full schedule of announcements below:

Tue., July 20: Davey O’Brien Award
Wed., July 21: Doak Walker Award
Thu., July 22: Biletnikoff Award
Fri., July 23: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy
Mon., July 26: Butkus Award, Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Tue., July 27: Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Outland Trophy
Wed., July 28: Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 29: Paul Hornung Award, Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., July 30: Walter Camp Award