clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

McKinley Wright, Eli Parquet honored with Pac-12 awards

Plus, a surprise appearance from Jabari Walker

NCAA Basketball: California at Colorado Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

The Pac-12 announced it’s post-season awards, and while McKinley Wright was not named Player of the Year, this is not a bad day for him and the other Colorado Buffaloes.

Wright was named to the First Team All-Pac-12 for the third time in his illustrious career. He averaged 15.3 points, 5.7 assists and 4.3 rebounds, and became the first ever Pac-12 men’s player to surpass career totals of 1,600 points, 600 assists and 600 rebounds.

Wright was also an honorable mention for All-Defense, but we can hardly complain because Eli Parquet was chosen over him. We wondered if Parquet had the reputation to be honored and it turns out that the rest of the Pac-12 is afraid of him. He’s probably the best one-on-one defender in the league, and it’s always fun to see him allow his guy to get a step on him before blocking his shot from behind.

Jabari Walker was a surprise selection to the All-Freshman team. He averaged 7.7 points and 5.4 rebounds in just 14 minutes per game. His efficiency and aggressiveness were essential to the Buffs, and that much was shown when they lost multiple games while he was out with a leg injury. Assuming he stops fouling the bejesus out of everyone, Walker looks like a future star.

Jeriah Horne was conspicuously absent from any honors. I projected him to win 6th Man, and he would have over Arizona’s Jordan Brown (who wasn’t even Arizona’s best 6th man), but he was deemed ineligible because he started too many games (9 starts in 20 league games). He also deserved to be on the second team All-Pac-12, but ultimately didn’t make it on, not even as an honorable mention.

All-Pac-12 First Team

James Akinjo, ARIZ
Timmy Allen, UTAH
Tyger Campbell, UCLA
Oscar da Silva, STAN
Chris Duarte, ORE
Remy Martin, ASU
Evan Mobley, USC
Eugene Omoruyi, ORE
Ethan Thompson, OSU
McKinley Wright IV, COLO

Second Team

Isaac Bonton, WSU
Matt Bradley, CAL
Tahj Eaddy, USC
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA*
Johnny Juzang, UCLA

Honorable mentions: Evan Battey, COLO; Jaiden Delaire, STAN; Quade Green, WASH; Azuolas Tubelis, ARIZ; Noah Williams, WSU

*Jaquez deserves First Team honors. You cannot tell me Timmy Allen is a better player than him.


Oscar da Silva, STAN
Chris Duarte, ORE
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Evan Mobley, USC
Eli Parquet, COLO

Honorable mentions: Warith Alatishe, OSU; Bryce Wills, STAN; McKinley Wright IV, COLO


Efe Abogidi, WSU
Bennedict Mathurin, ARIZ
Evan Mobley, USC
Azuolas Tubelis, ARIZ
Jabari Walker, COLO

Honorable mentions: Marcus Bagley, ASU; Josh Christopher, ASU; Dishon Jackson, WSU; Ziaire Williams, STAN

Conference Awards

Player of the Year: Evan Mobley, USC
Freshman of the Year: Evan Mobley, USC
Defensive Player of the Year: Evan Mobley, USC*
6th Man of the Year: Jordan Brown, Arizona**
Most Improved Player: Jaden Delaire, Stanford
Coach of the Year: Andy Enfield, USC***

*Mobley won so many awards that you may as well give McKinley the Player of the Year award. Both should be remembered for the seasons they had.
**Jeriah Horne should have won this, regardless of eligibility
***Having Eric Mobley on staff, and boosters in tow, was more important for USC’s success than anything Andy Enfield schemed.