clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

McKinley Wright named First Team All-Pac-12, Tyler Bey Second Team

The two stars were awarded on Monday.

NCAA Basketball: Oregon at Colorado Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The Colorado Buffaloes are driven by their stars, so it was no surprise to see the end of season awards feature both McKinley Wright and Tyler Bey.

Wright was named to First Team All-Pac-12 as well as the All-Defensive Team. He is the engine behind the Buffaloes in terms of scheme and leadership. The Buffaloes operate at their best with his doing everything in his power, be it his 14.2 points per game or his 5.1 assists per game. His defense is also elite at the position, particularly his uncanny ability to rebound at his 6’0 height.

Bey was named to the conference’s Second Team, the All-Defensive Team, and won Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. He’s the backbone of the Colorado defense, as his length and athleticism cause problems via steals, blocks and defensive rebounds. His offense has long been underrated as well, as he’s a polished post-player who can (and should try more often to) dunk through traffic.

The full Pac-12 awards go as follows:

Player of the Year: Payton Pritchard, Oregon

Freshman of the Year: Zeke Nnaji, USC

Defensive Player of the Year: Tyler Bey, Colorado

Most Improved Player: Chris Smith, UCLA

Sixth Man of the Year: Alonzo Verge, Arizona State

Coach of the Year: Mick Cronin, UCLA

The full First Team All-Pac-12:

Oscar da Silva, Stanford

C.J. Elleby, Washington State

Remy Martin, Arizona State

Zeke Nnaji, Arizona

Onyeka Okongwu, USC

Payton Pritchard, Oregon

Chris Smith, UCLA

Isaiah Stewart, Washington

Tres Tinkle, Oregon State

McKinley Wright, Colorado

Second Team All-Pac-12

Timmy Allen, Utah

Tyler Bey, Colorado

Matt Bradley, California

Nico Mannion, Arizona

Jonah Mathews, USC


Nico Mannion, Arizona

Zeke Nnaji, Arizona

Onyeka Okongwu

Isaiah Stewart, Washington

Tyrell Terry, Stanford


Tyler Bey, Colorado

Kylor Kelley, Oregon State

Jonah Mathews, USC

Bryce Wills, Stanford

McKinley Wright, Colorado