clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mustafa Johnson, Laviska Shenault Jr. named to Pac-12 preseason first team

The two are joined by one more on the second team.

NCAA Football: Arizona State at Colorado Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Pac-12 Media Day is in full session and that means preseason lists are being compiled. Preseason first-team announcements mean nothing, but they are a good way to understand expectations surrounding certain players.

Laviska Shenault, Jr. is on the preseason first-team, as expected, because he’s arguably the best receiver in the nation. Mustafa Johnson joins him on the first-team list, which is something of a surprise, but he’s a havoc-inducer capable of breaking out as a star. Nate Landman probably should have been first-team, but no one should complain about second-team. Then on the offensive line, the promising William Sherman is an honorable mention. I would argue that Delrick Abrams should have been at least an honorable mention, but it’s all meaningless.

Here are the full preseason teams:

First Team

QB - Justin Herbert, Oregon

RB - Eno Benjamin, Arizona State

RB - Zack Moss, Utah

WR - Laviska Shenault, Jr., Colorado

WR - Michael Pittman, USC

TE - Colby Parkinson, Stanford

OL - Trey Adams, Washington

OL - Shane Lemieux, Oregon

OL - Walker Little, Stanford

OL - Calvin Throckmorton

C - Nick Harris, Washington

DL - Bradlee Anae, Utah

DL -Leki Fotu, Utah

DL - Mustafa Johnson, Colorado

DL - Jay Tufele, USC

LB - Troy Dye, Oregon (worse than Landman)

LB - Colin Schooler, Arizona (worse than Landman)

LB - Evan Weaver, California (as good as Landman)

DB - Paulson Adebo, Stanford

DB - Julian Blackmon, Utah

DB - Myles Bryant, Washington

DB - Jaylon Johnson, Utah

K - Jet Toner, Stanford

P - Oscar Draguicevich III, Washington State

AP - J.J. Taylor, Arizona

Second Team

QB - K.J. Costello, Stanford

RB - J.J. Taylor, Arizona

RB - Jemar Jefferson, Oregon

WR - Amon-Ra St. Brown, USC

WR - Isaiah Hodgins, Oregon State

TE - Hunter Bryant, Washington

OL - Penei Sewell, Oregon

OL - Gus Lavaka, Oregon State

OL - Abe Lucas, Washington

OL - Darin Paulo, Utah

C - Cohl Cabral, Arizona State

DL - Luc Bequette, California

DL - John Penisini, Utah

DL - Christian Rector, USC

DL - Jordon Scott, Oregon

LB - Nate Landman, Colorado

LB - Merlin Robertson, Arizona State

LB - Jahad Woods, Washington State

DB - Camryn Bynum, California

DB - Ashtyn Davis, California

DB - Thomas Graham Jr., Oregon

DB - Darnay Holmes, UCLA

K - Brandon Ruiz, Arizona State

P - Steven Coutts, California

AP - Britain Covey, Utah