clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado guard McKinley Wright IV named to Cousy Award Watch List

Wright was recently named to the Preseason All-Pac-12 First Team

COLLEGE BASKETBALL: JAN 27 Colorado at Arizona State Photo by Adam Bow/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Colorado Buffaloes guard McKinley Wright IV has been named to the 2020 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award watch list, per an announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Wright averaged 13.0 points, 4.8 assists and 1.1 steals for the Buffaloes last season, earning All-Pac-12 honors. He led the Buffaloes in assists, steals and 3-point percentage (.365), while ranking second in scoring, field goal shooting (.494) and free throw percentage (.807) and third in rebounding (4.9 rpg).

The Buffs point guard was third in assists among players in the Pac-12, eighth in free throw percentage, 10th in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.5), 12th in field goal percentage and 17th in scoring. His field goal shooting was the second-best among back court players in the conference.

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates, all chosen by a unique set of standards.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

Additional awards being presented and receiving s include the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

2020 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates (20)

Remy Martin, Arizona State

McKinley Wright IV, Colorado

Tre Jones, Duke

Andrew Nembhard, Florida

Trent Forrest, Florida St.

Bryce Aiken, Harvard

Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois

Devon Dotson, Kansas

Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

Markus Howard, Marquette

Anthony Cowan, Maryland

Zavier Simpson, Michigan

Cassius Winston, Michigan State

Cole Anthony, North Carolina

Payton Pritchard, Oregon

Jordan Ford, Saint Mary’s

Lamonte’ Turner, Tennessee

Davide Moretti, Texas Tech

Marcus Evans, VCU

Kihei Clark, Virginia

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include:

Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).