clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Buffaloes WR Laviska Shenault added to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Shenault is one of 11 receivers added to the list mid-season

Colorado v Colorado State Photo by Joe Mahoney/Getty Images

Colorado Buffaloes wide receiver Laviska Shenault was among the latest group of players added to the Biletnikoff Award watch list, per an announcement by the The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation on Tuesday.

Shenault, a sophomore from Desoto, Texas, leads the Pac-12 and is currently fifth in the nation with 455 receiving yards through three games. He’s one of eleven players to make the Biletnikoff Award watch list including Colorado State’s duo of Preston Williams and Olabisi Johnson. As it stands now, Shenault’s average 151.6 yards per game puts him in contention to break CU’s single-season receiving record set by Paul Richardson with 1,343 yards in 2013.

Colorado has yet to have a player win a Biletnikoff Award since its inception in 1994. Nelson Spruce was the last Buffaloes receiver to gain attention for this award as he was one of 10 semifinalists in 2014.

About the Biletnikoff Award

“The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding FBS receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver. The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 540 prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted.”