clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre wins AP College Football Coach of the Year

The list of national honors continues for the Buffaloes head coach.

Pac-12 Championship - Colorado v Washington Photo by Robert Reiners/Getty Images

Colorado Buffaloes coach Mike MacIntyre was named the 2016 Associated Press Coach of the Year as voted on by members of the media. He led the Buffaloes to a 10-3 record while winning the Pac-12 South Division and securing a bowl game for the first time in nine seasons.

MacIntyre gathered 109 points and 25 first-place votes to beat out Alabama’s Nick Saban, Western Michigan’s P.J. Fleck, Penn State’s James Franklin, Washington’s Chris Petersen and Ohio State’s Urban Meyer for the award.

Colorado’s fourth year head coach becomes the only University of Colorado football coach to win the award since the inception by the AP in 1998.

The No. 10 Colorado Buffaloes take on the No. 12 Oklahoma State Cowboys in the Alamo Bowl on Dec. 29 (7 p.m. MT, ESPN).