clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffaloes Complete 2012 And 2013 Schedules With FCS Opponents

The Colorado Buffaloes have filled the final two holes in their 2012 and 2013 football schedules, adding to previously scheduled opponents Colorado State and Fresno State. Due to the Pac-12 conferences' standard of nine conference games, Colorado will normally only play three non-conference games as opposed to the four that were scheduled in the Big 12. However, this year the team played four due to the thirteen game exemption allowed for teams that travel to Hawaii. reported that while the schedules have been filled with two FCS teams, the names of the teams have not yet been released.

The agreements fill the only remaining holes in the schedule in those seasons on Sept. 8, 2012 and Sept. 7, 2013. The source refused to name the schools but one is from the Big Sky Conference and is not Northern Colorado.

CU also is making a little history in scheduling the two FCS teams.

Next season will mark just the third time since 1948 that CU will not play at least one other team from a major conference in the non-conference portion of its schedule. The Buffs are slated to play Colorado State in Denver, host an FCS team and play at Fresno State on Sept. 15.

The conference schedules for the upcoming seasons have not yet been released but at the very least we know that the Buffs will travel to Arizona and USC while welcoming Arizona State, UCLA, and Utah to Boulder. Beyond the Fresno State and Colorado State match-ups, CU has another home and home with Hawaii scheduled in 2014 and 2015 and has been in talks with LSU for the same.

While I do not want this to become a habit, especially with only three non-conference games going forward, I am certainly OK with these two additions while Jon Embree continues to rebuild this program to a place where taking on an Ohio State doesn't give Buffaloes fans a chill.