clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation 2009 All-Big 12 Preseason Team

In the spirit of media days coming up, the SBNation Big 12 bloggers got together and voted on who we think will make up the 2009 All Conference team. Like in the national media, the Colorado Buffaloes have a lot to prove to get the respect of the blogging world as no Buff was represented on the first team. In fact, five teams did not have a player named to the team as the Big 12 South took control placing 21 of the 27 players on the squad. The Buffs didn't get shut out of the voting, though. OL Ryan Miller received the most votes of any Buff, followed by RB Rodney Stewart. CB Cha'pelle Brown, TE Riar Geer, TE Patrick Devenny and FB Jake Behrens tallied recognition as well. Better than I thought considering that you couldn't vote for players that you blog about (i.e. The Ralphie Report couldn't vote for CU players).

It is hard to find flaws in this list. I do think players like CB Jimmy Smith, OL Nate Solder and OL Ryan Miller have a shot at breaking through at the end of the year. Wins in 2009 will get our Buffs more exposure.


CB Dominique Franks, OU OL Russell Okung, OSU K Alex Henery, Nebraska
CB Perrish Cox, OSU OL Adam Ulatoski, Texas KR Dez Bryant, OSU
DE Sergio Kindle, Texas OL Chris Hall, Texas P Derek Epperson, Baylor
DE Auston English, OU OL Trent Williams, OU    
DL Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska OL Kurtis Gregory, Missouri    
DL Gerald McCoy, OU QB Sam Bradford, OU    
LB Joe Pawelek, Baylor RB Kendall Hunter, OSU    
LB Sean Weatherspoon, Missouri RB DeMarco Murray, OU    
LB Travis Lewis, OU TE Jermaine Gresham, OU    
S Darrell Stuckey, Kansas WR Dez Bryant, OSU    
S Jordan Lake, Baylor WR Jordan Shipley, Texas    
    WR Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas    
    FB Matt Clapp, OU    


Oklahoma Sooners 9
Oklahoma St. Cowboys 5
Texas Longhorns 4
Baylor Bears 3
Missouri Tigers 2
Kansas Jayhawks 2
Nebraska Cornhuskers 2