clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 All Conference Teams Announced, OT Nate Solder Selected to First Team

The All-Big 12 Conference football teams and individual award winners have been announced by conference officials. All selections are made by the Big 12 head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Junior offensive tackle Nate Solder received the highest award on the Buffs squad, being named first team All Big 12 at tackle, a great accomplishment for the converted tight end. Solder brings a rare combination of size and speed to the mix and is currently looked at as being one of the players with a strong chance to make it in the NFL. He still has a lot to learn about the position but the athleticism is there.

Two other Buffs, TE Riar Geer and CB Cha'pelle Brown were named second team All Big 12. Rounding out the teams, these Colorado Buffaloes were named honorable mention: Jake Behrens, FB; Jalil Brown, DB; Benjamin Burney, DB; Marquez Herrod, DL; Scotty McKnight, WR; Ryan Miller, OL; Jeff Smart, LB; Jimmy Smith, DB; Rodney Stewart, RB.

The biggest surprise is WR Scotty McKnight not being named second team All Conference. He did make honorable mention but Kansas State WR Brandon Banks was named over McKnight. Banks, a talented return man, was named first team KR/PR so this selection over McKnight is very confusing considering it wasn't a charity place for a kick returner.

Scotty McKnight was sixth in the conference with 74.42 yards per game. McKnight was tied for fifth in receptions with 76, was sixth in yards at 893 and sixth in receptions per game at 6.33. Brandon Banks ranked 10th in receiving yards per game at 58.75, 10th in yards at 705 and ninth in receptions with 56. McKnight had six touchdowns to Banks' one.

Congrats to all of those Buffs who were named to the All-Conference teams